A SEMA-supported bill (A.B. 8592) has been introduced in the New York Assembly to exempt restoration and custom shops from the state's motor vehicle repair shop requirements. This exemption would relieve these shops from the obligation to provide written estimates to customers seeking restoration, rebuild or customization work on specialty motor vehicles or motor vehicles at least 25-years old.

We Urge You to Contact Assembly Transportation Committee Members (List Attached) Immediately To Request Their Support for A.B. 8592

* A.B. 8592 would allow restoration and custom shops to accurately inform customers of actual costs and materials, removing vagueness associated with shops attempting to "guess" probable time for unique tasks and probable costs for unique, and in some cases, yet to be fabricated, parts.

* A.B. 8592 recognizes that restoration and custom shops constitute a small portion of shops that work on vehicles within the state and fulfill a unique niche that does not conform to that of standard repair shops.

* A.B. 8592 acknowledges that restoration and custom shops are not "parts changers" and are thus unable to calculate precise estimates on parts to be used in a custom job. Each job presents new challenges requiring varying amounts of time and different parts. Often, parts must be reworked or altered for different purposes or completely new parts must be fabricated.

* A.B. 8592 would allow restoration and custom shops to bill on a time & materials basis while recognizing that customers have the right to be notified of costs in a timely fashion.

DON'T DELAY! Please contact members of the New York Assembly Transportation Committee immediately to request their support of A.B. 8592. Please e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.

New York Assembly Transportation Committee To e-mail all members of the New York Assembly Transportation Committee, copy and paste the email address block below: braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us; GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us; bronsonh@assembly.state.ny.us; CrespoM@assembly.state.ny.us; CusickM@assembly.state.ny.us; DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us; espinalr@assembly.state.ny.us; GabryszakD@assembly.state.ny.us; LatimeG@assembly.state.ny.us; lopezp@assembly.state.ny.us; losquadrod@assembly.state.ny.us; LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us; MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us; malliotakisn@assembly.state.ny.us; McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us; millmaj@assembly.state.ny.us; MurrayD@assembly.state.ny.us; palmesanop@assembly.state.ny.us; PerryN@assembly.state.ny.us; reilicw@assembly.state.ny.us; RobertsS@assembly.state.ny.us; SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us; ThieleF@assembly.state.ny.us; TitoneM@assembly.state.ny.us; TobaccoL@assembly.state.ny.us; weisenbergh@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman David F. Gantt (Chair)
Email: GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Edward C. Braunstein
Email: braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Harry B. Bronson
Email: bronsonh@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Marcos A. Crespo
Email: CrespoM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Michael Cusick
Email: CusickM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Michael G. DenDekker
Email: DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Rafael L. Espinal, Jr.
Email: espinalr@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Dennis H. Gabryszak
Email: GabryszakD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman George S. Latimer
Email: LatimeG@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Peter D. Lopez
Email: lopezp@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Dan Losquadro
Email: losquadrod@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Donna A. Lupardo
Email: LupardoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Alan Maisel
Email: MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Nicole Malliotakis
Email: malliotakisn@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman David G. McDonough
Email: McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Joan L. Millman
Email: millmaj@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Dean Murray
Email: MurrayD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Philip A. Palmesano
Email: palmesanop@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman N. Nick Perry
Email: PerryN@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Bill Reilich
Email: reilicw@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Samuel D. Roberts
Email: RobertsS@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Michelle Schimel
Email: SchimelM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Fred W. Thiele, Jr.
Email: ThieleF@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Matthew Titone
Email: TitoneM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Lou Tobacco
Email: TobaccoL@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Harvey Weisenberg
Email: weisenbergh@assembly.state.ny.us