A bill (H.B. 4068) that originally provided a fair cap on property taxes paid by owners of antique and classic motor vehicles was amended and approved by the West Virginia State Legislature on March 10th with a new $5,000 assessed value for all of these cars. The previous version of the bill contained an assessed value provision of $1,000, which meant that the maximum actual property tax paid by antique or classic motor vehicle owners would only be about $30 per year. Under the version that was approved by the entire Legislature on March 10th and sent to the governor for his consideration, the actual maximum tax paid would be $150. This bill now only benefits antique and classic vehicle owners whose cars are worth more than $5,000. It would penalize antique and classic vehicle owners whose cars are worth less than $5,000.

We Urge You to Contact Governor Earl Ray Tomblin (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion on H.B. 4068

* West Virginia law defines an "Antique motor vehicle" to mean any motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is owned solely as a collector's item. The law defines a "Classic Motor Vehicle" as a motor vehicle which is more than twenty-five years old and is used for general transportation.

DON'T DELAY! Please contact Governor Earl Ray Tomblin immediately to voice your opinion on H.B. 4068. Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.

Governor Earl Ray Tomblin
Contact Address:
Office of the Governor
State Capitol
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Charleston, West Virginia 25305

Office Telephone:
(304) 558-2000 or 1-888-438-2731

Electronic Message: http://www.governor.wv.gov/Pages/SubmitaCommenttotheGovernor.aspx