The West Virginia House of Delegates has introduced a concurrent resolution (HCR 67) urging the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to revoke its decision to allow the sale of gasoline with fifteen percent ethanol (E15) until there is clear and convincing scientific evidence that El5 does not pose a risk to any gasoline-powered vehicle or equipment.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the West Virginia House Rules Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Support for HCR 67

* HCR 67 recognizes that ethanol increases water formation which can then create formic acid and corrode metals, plastics and rubber, especially over a period of time when the vehicle is not used. Current high performance specialty parts along with the pre-2001 cars and parts may be most susceptible to corrosion.

* HCR 67 estimates that there are 74 million pre-2001 motor vehicles in the marketplace that may be mis-fueled with E15. 516,553 motor vehicles currently in West Virginia are from the pre-2001 era.

* HCR 67 warns that the life span of these vehicles and equipment can be dramatically reduced with the wrong fuel and the owners could be confronted with break downs. Anti-corrosion additives are available for each purchase of gasoline but can become expensive, burdensome and require consumer education.

DON'T DELAY! Please contact the West Virginia House Rules Committee members to request support for HCR 67. Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts. Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.

West Virginia House Rules Committee

To e-mail all Rules Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Speaker Rick Thompson (Chair)
Phone: (304) 340-3210

Delegate Brent Boggs
Phone: (304) 340-3220

Delegate Mike Caputo
Phone: (304) 340-3249

Delegate Ron Fragale
Phone: (304) 622-3609

Delegate Barbara Hatfield
Phone: (304) 340-3140

Delegate Charlene Marshall
Phone: (304) 340-3900

Delegate Tim Miley
Phone: (304) 340-3252

Delegate Jim Morgan
Phone: (304) 340-3192

Delegate Brady Paxton
Phone: (304) 340-3337

Delegate Mary M. Poling
Phone: (304) 340-3265

Delegate Joe Talbott
Phone: (304) 340-3116

Delegate Scott G. Varner
Phone: (304) 340-3187

Delegate Harry Keith White
Phone: (304) 340-3230

Delegate Bill Anderson
Phone: (304) 340-3168

Delegate Tim Armstead
Phone: (304) 340-3240

Delegate Bob Ashley
Phone: (304) 340-3185

Delegate Mitch Carmichael
Phone: (304) 340-3115

Delegate Walter E. Duke
Phone: (304) 340-3151

Delegate John Overington
Phone: (304) 340-3148