Legislation (S.B. 1532) to extend the emissions inspection exemption to vehicles never before registered in the state or any other jurisdiction for ten years from the date of original registration was approved by the Senate Appropriations Committee. Current law only exempts new vehicles that have less than 5,000 miles on their odometer for one year after their first registration. The bill now moves to the Senate floor for a vote by all Senators.

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Pennsylvania Senate (Contact Information Below) Immediately to Request Support for S.B. 1532

* S.B. 1532 acknowledges the relatively minimal environmental impact of the new vehicles targeted for this exemption.

* S.B. 1532 acknowledges that it is senseless to test newer vehicles, the results of which demonstrate no significant air quality benefits. The idea behind exempting any class of vehicles is to reduce costs while not losing appreciable emission reductions. This strategy builds support for emission inspection programs, but also directs finite resources to where they will be most valuable in cleaning the air.

* S.B. 1532 still requires that the newest ten model year vehicles be subject to visual anti-tampering inspections for the presence of emissions control components installed on the vehicle by manufacturers.

* Pennsylvania already exempts pre-1975 vehicles from emissions testing. The logic for this trend is clear; such vehicles do not contribute in significant ways to air quality problems. This logic applies equally to newer cars.

DON'T DELAY! Please contact members of the Pennsylvania Senate immediately to request their support for S.B. 1532.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org. Thank you for your assistance.

Pennsylvania Senate

To e-mail all members of the Pennsylvania Senate, copy and paste the email address block below:

alloway@pasen.gov, dargall@pasen.gov, lbaker@pasen.gov, senatorblake@pasenate.com, boscola@pasenate.com, brewster@pasenate.com, pbrowne@pasen.gov, mbrubaker@pasen.gov, jcorman@pasen.gov, costa@pasenate.com, andy@pasenate.com, jearll@pasen.gov, jeichelberger@pasen.gov, eerickson@pasen.gov, larryfarnese@comcast.net, ferlo@pasenate.com, mfolmer@pasen.gov, fontana@pasenate.com, jgordner@pasen.gov, sgreenleaf@pasen.gov, hughes@pasenate.com, rkasunic@pasenate.com, kitchen@pasenate.com, senatorleach@pasenate.com, cmcilhinney@pasen.gov, bmensch@pasen.gov, jpiccola@pasen.gov, dpileggi@pasen.gov, jrafferty@pasen.gov, rrobbins@pasen.gov, jscarnati@pasen.gov, SenatorSchwank@pasenate.com, lsmucker@pasen.gov, tsolobay@pasenate.com, stack@pasenate.com, tartaglione@pasenate.com, rtomlinson@pasen.gov, vance@pasen.gov, evogel@pasen.gov, rvulakovich@pasen.gov, kward@pasen.gov, washington@pasenate.com, mwaugh@pasen.gov, dwhite@pasen.gov, mwhite@pasen.gov, williams@pasenate.com, wozniak@pasenate.com, gyaw@pasen.gov, yudichak@pasenate.com

Senator Richard Alloway
alloway@pasen.gov

Senator David Argall
dargall@pasen.gov

Senator Lisa Baker
lbaker@pasen.gov

Senator John Blake
senatorblake@pasenate.com

Senator Lisa Boscola
boscola@pasenate.com

Senator James Brewster
brewster@pasenate.com

Senator Patrick Browne
pbrowne@pasen.gov

Senator Mike Brubaker
mbrubaker@pasen.gov

Senator Jake Corman
jcorman@pasen.gov

Senator Jay Costa
costa@pasenate.com

Senator Andrew Dinniman
andy@pasenate.com

Senator Jane Earll
jearll@pasen.gov

Senator John Eichelberger
jeichelberger@pasen.gov

Senator Edwin Erickson
eerickson@pasen.gov

Senator Lawrence Farnese
larryfarnese@comcast.net

Senator Jim Ferlo
ferlo@pasenate.com

Senator Mike Folmer
mfolmer@pasen.gov

Senator Wayne Fontana
fontana@pasenate.com

Senator John Gordner
jgordner@pasen.gov

Senator Stewart Greenleaf
sgreenleaf@pasen.gov

Senator Vincent Hughes
hughes@pasenate.com

Senator Richard Kasunic
rkasunic@pasenate.com

Senator Shirley Kitchen
kitchen@pasenate.com

Senator Daylin Leach
senatorleach@pasenate.com

Senator Charles McIlhinney
cmcilhinney@pasen.gov

Senator Bob Mensch
bmensch@pasen.gov

Senator Jeffrey Piccola
jpiccola@pasen.gov

Senator Dominic Pileggi
dpileggi@pasen.gov

Senator John Rafferty
jrafferty@pasen.gov

Senator Robert Robbins
rrobbins@pasen.gov

Senator Joseph Scarnati
jscarnati@pasen.gov

Senator Judith Schwank
SenatorSchwank@pasenate.com

Senator Lloyd Smucker
lsmucker@pasen.gov

Senator Timothy Solobay
tsolobay@pasenate.com

Senator Michael Stack
stack@pasenate.com

Senator Christine Tartaglione
tartaglione@pasenate.com

Senator Robert Tomlinson
rtomlinson@pasen.gov

Senator Patricia Vance
vance@pasen.gov

Senator Elder Vogel
evogel@pasen.gov

Senator Randy Vulakovich
rvulakovich@pasen.gov

Senator Kim Ward
kward@pasen.gov

Senator LeAnna Washington
washington@pasenate.com

Senator Michael Waugh
mwaugh@pasen.gov

Senator Donald White
dwhite@pasen.gov

Senator Mary Jo White
mwhite@pasen.gov

Senator Anthony Williams
williams@pasenate.com

Senator John Wozniak
wozniak@pasenate.com

Senator Gene Yaw
gyaw@pasen.gov

Senator John Yudichak
yudichak@pasenate.com